General Assembly

General Assembly
The Legislative Assembly is the parliament of Prince Edward Island, made up of the law-makers and the independent offices and officials who support their work. The 27 elected members represent the constituents of their respective districts as the House considers legislation. Once legislation is passed by the members and assented to by the Lieutenant Governor it becomes law.

Most importantly, the members of the Legislative Assembly are responsible for approving the financial proposals of the government, holding the Premier and Cabinet accountable for their actions and for departmental expenditures. This is a key function of the Legislative Assembly, ensuring the public – through its elected members – has a say in how public monies are spent.

The public is welcome to attend a sitting of the legislature, which traditionally sits twice a year beginning in April and again in November. During a sitting the legislature is in session on the following days and times:

Sitting Hours
Monday Closed
Tuesday 2:00pm – 5:00pm, 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Wednesday 2:00pm – 5:00pm
Thursday 2:00pm – 5:00pm, 7:00pm – 9:00pm
Friday 10:00am – 1:00pm
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed